Want Us To Contact You?
First-Time DUI Defense Lawyer in
St. Charles, MO
Ready to Fight for Your Freedom & Driving Privileges
The first time many people first experience the Missouri criminal justice system is after a DWI arrest. Unfortunately, a conviction for a first DWI offense can lead to serious criminal penalties, such fines and other court-ordered fees, driver’s license suspension, and even jail time. In order to protect your rights, reputation, and freedom, an important step is hiring a skilled criminal defense lawyer to defend you throughout the legal process.
If you have recently been arrested for a DWI in St. Charles or within the surrounding area, let Wayne T. Schoeneberg P.C. fight for the most favorable result in court. With more than four decades of experience, Wayne is a dui defense lawyer. He’s handled thousands of cases and guided our clients through the complexities of the criminal justice system.
First DUI Laws & Penalties in Missouri
In Missouri, DUI laws are stringent and strictly enforced to ensure road safety. The state operates under a “per se” law, which means that individuals can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeds the legal limit of 0.08%. For commercial drivers, the limit is lower at 0.04%, and for drivers under the age of 21, any detectable amount of alcohol in their system can lead to penalties.
Missouri also implements an implied consent law, which means that drivers implicitly agree to chemical testing for alcohol or drugs when they opt to drive on state roads. This agreement is found in the text you sign when you get a Missouri driver’s license. Penalties for DUI convictions can include fines, license suspension or revocation, mandatory alcohol education or treatment programs, community service, and even jail time, with severity increasing for subsequent offenses or aggravating factors such as causing injury or death while driving under the influence. Additionally, Missouri has implemented laws to discourage drunk driving, including sobriety checkpoints and increased penalties for refusing chemical testing.
On this page we’re going to take a brief look at first offense DUI. A first DUI offense is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of six months and/or a fine of up to $1000. However, a judge can suspend the sentence and order a defendant to up to two years of probation and court-ordered substance abuse treatment.
However, if a driver’s BAC is at least .15 percent, then the minimum jail can be 48 hours. If a driver’s BAC is at least .2 percent, the minimum jail sentence can be five days.
In addition to the criminal charges, the State of Missouri will also issue an administrative suspension on a driver’s license for 90 days. After the first 30 days of the suspension, a driver may opt to install an ignition interlock device (IID) and obtain restricted driving privileges for the remaining 60 days.
All of this means that it is imperative that you attain the services of an experienced DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Let the Best Dui Defense Lawyer in St. Charles County Help!
Don’t wait to reach out for help. Since a conviction can result in harsh penalties, it is imperative to have an experienced DUI defense lawyer on your side to fight for the best possible outcome in your case. We are ready to investigate your arrest, gather and assess evidence, negotiate with the prosecution, and defend you in the courtroom.
Contact us today to discuss your case with Wayne and his team.