Want Us To Contact You?
St. Charles Defense Services for Underage DUI
Trusted and Committed Advocacy in St. Charles and Lincoln Counties as an Underage DUI Defense Attorney
If you or your child are facing underage DUI charges in Missouri, take a deep breath and relax a little, then give Wayne T. Schoeneberg, a call. The penalties for underage drivers are usually less severe than than for standard DUIs, and it is possible to reinstate a license following the necessary suspension or revocation period. But it will be to your advantage to contact our practice as soon as possible.
Wayne T. Schoeneberg has been practicing the law for over 40 years, and he’s seen it all. Underage DUIs happen and while it’s no fun, it’s not the end of the world. Schoeneberg has been providing affordable defense services for underage dui offenses for almost as long as he’s been in practice. As your underage dui defense attorney, he will work personally with you and/or your child on your case, doing his absolute best to protect the the drivers license in question.
Meanwhile, read on to learn more about the laws and potential outcomes for someone who has been accused of an underage DUI.
Important Difference between Underage DUI or DWI and Minor in Possession (MIP)
DUI and DWI are the same exact charge and the terms are used interchangeably by law enforcement, judges, and lawyers. You can read more about this here.
In Missouri, underage individuals (under the age of 21) who have been arrested or stopped while possessing a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02% or more may face a range of penalties. A first offense for underage driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a Class B misdemeanor.
An underage driver may also face charges for being a minor in possession (MIP) if they are operating a motor vehicle while:
- purchasing or attempting to purchase any intoxicating liquor;
- possessing any intoxicating liquor; or
- being visibly intoxicated as defined by Missouri law.
It is also possible for an underage driver to be charged with an MIP instead of a DUI if their BAC is below 0.08%.
Any underage driver convicted of DUI could face a range of penalties, including:
- A 90-day license suspension
A fine of up to $1,000
A jail sentence of up to six months
Repeat offenders may face up to $2,000 in fines and a jail term of up to one year. A third offense can result in up to four years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
Rest assured that it is not common for judges to sentence a first-time offender to 6 months in jail, though it is nonetheless a possibility if the judge suspects there is a larger problem.
But this is why you need an experienced underage dui defense attorney to protect you or your child from an outcome that is harsher than necessary. Wayne Schoeneberg provides affordable defense services for underage dui charges because he knows that we all make mistakes, but especially when we’re young.
In the case of MIP charges, a first MIP withdrawal action is a 30-day license suspension, and a second withdrawal is a 90-day suspension; third or subsequent withdrawal actions will result in a 1-year revocation and possible extended jail time. Missouri may also require the minor to take their driving test a second time. A first offense may also come with a $300.00 fine. Repeated offenders may face as much as a $1000.00 in fines.
Judges have some latitude in how they treat underage DUI and MIP. A savvy lawyer who knows this system well, will get you the best outcome.
If you or your child need defense services for underage DUI, it is imperative that you contact Wayne Schoeneberg’s offices well before going to court so we can get help you with your case and get you on our calendar. As an expert underage DUI defense attorney like Wayne can make a huge difference in the outcome.